Managing user accounts

If you have added certain features to your site, then users of your website may be able to log in.  For example, they may need to log in to add comments to your blog, or to view private content.

Adding new users

There are two methods for adding users, with slightly difference pros and cons.  Each site will normally have just one method.  If you are not sure, then try the instructions for one method, and you will soon find out if it's not present.  If you aren't sure, please ask us for help.

User self-registration

You can email anyone you would like to be able to log in to your site and invite them to join.

  1. Tell users to visit your site and click the log in button, and then 'Create new account'.  Or you can click "create new account" yourself, copy the URL from the address bar in your browser, and send this URL to your users.  If you don't see 'Create new account' then your site doesn't allow self-registration - try the user creation section instead.
  2. The user then fills in their registration details following the instructions.
  3. Typically, your site is configured so that you need to approve new users before they gain access.  Your user will get an email saying that their account is awaiting approval.
  4. You will get an email reporting that the user has applied for an account.  Click on the link, and follow the prompt to log in if you aren't already.  Check the user details, and if you wish to allow the account, set status to active, then click save.

Creating users

You can create accounts for users that you would like to me members of your site.

  1. Make sure you are logged in to your site.
  2. Go to your Editing Menu, and click 'View user list'.
  3. Click the button at the top of the page 'Add user'.  If you don't see this button, then your site doesn't allow user creation - try the self-registration section instead.
  4. Type in the username and email address.  Select 'Notify user of new account' and click 'Create new account'.
  5. The user will receive an email with instructions on how to log in and choose their password.

Managing users

You can manage the other users of your website:

  1. Make sure you are logged in to your site.
  2. Go to your Editing Menu, and click 'View user list'.
  3. You will now see a list of all your users.  Click on an entry to view the details, or use the edit link in the right-hand column.
  4. To block a user from accessing the system, click on the edit button, set status to blocked, then click save.

Working effectively with images is a balancing act, if you want to empower your editor to add and change images...

Recently, Google increased the security warnings on the Chrome browser.  Chrome now generates a warning for any website without a...

One of the most useful ways to keep in touch with your audience, customers or regular readers is to send...